PA Marriage License Laws

Back to homepage

Pa Marriage License Laws
What You Need to Know by County
By C. Carroll Gay-couple-marriage-license-laws

Are you ready to walk down the aisle and exchange vows with the one you love? Are you ready for two worlds to join as one? If you answered yes to either of these questions, then here is want you need to know in order to have a legal marriage in Pennsylvania. The marriage laws may vary from county to county as each marriage license bureau could have their own requirements and the appropriate Clerk of the Orphans’ Court office will have the specific requirements necessary in your local area.

That said, every couple that intends to get married in Pennsylvania must apply for a marriage license, and there are certain rules that govern who may get a marriage license, how to get it and when it is valid. According to the website: www.weddingvendors.com, Pennsylvania recognizes heterosexual and same sex marriages where the people wanting to marry are not currently married to someone else. In addition, the couple that wishes to marry can not be related as first cousins, parent and child, siblings, aunt and nephew, uncle and niece or grandparent and grandchild. A person must be 18 years of age in order to get married without the consent of a parent or legal guardian. A person under the age of 16 must have the consent of a judge and a parent.

The couple must go in person to the county courthouse with a valid driver’s licenses, passport or another acceptable form of identification as well as proof of social security number in order to apply for a license. A license fee will be required with your application and the fee varies from $25 to $85 depending on the county. If either person has been previously married, he or she must bring proof of the divorce decree. This needs to state the date of the decree, the county and state and must provide for proof of name change if applicable. A copy of an annulment must have the same information as the divorce decree. If a widow/widower, the date when the former spouse dies is necessary.

Getting a new marriage license with your name on it doesn’t mean your name has automatically changed. An online marriage name change kit will help you with that. There is a 3-day waiting period in Pennsylvania and you can pick up your license up at the county court house or have it mailed to you. It is valid for 60 days and a marriage license obtained in Pennsylvania can be used anywhere in the state not only the county where it was acquired. The wedding must be officiated by a current or retired PA judge, mayor, minister, priest or a rabbi of a Pennsylvania town or city.

CertificateOfMarriage1The license must be signed and certified by the officiant and given to the county within 10 days of the wedding. If it is not returned in time, the wedding may not be considered valid and you may have to apply for a new license.

Where To Go To Apply:

Berks County
Marriage License Bureau
633 Court St., 2nd Floor
Reading, PA 19601
610-478-6617
Monday – Friday: 8am – 5pm
$55- cash, check, Visa and Mastercard

 

 

Bucks County
Orphans Court Administration Building
Doylestown, PA 18901
215-348-6257
$60 Cash or $62 Money Order
Monday – Friday 8am – 4:30pm
1st & 3rd Wednesday of the Month Open until 7:30

Offsite Location for Marriage License Application:
Lower Bucks Government Service Center
7321 New Falls Road
Levittown, PA 19055
Phone: 267-580-3585
Monday –  Friday 8:30 am – 4:00 pm
(Closed for lunch between 12:00 and 1:00 pm)
Appointments are encouraged at this location

Carbon County
Clerk of Orphans’ Court
Route 209
Jim Thorpe, PA 18229
570-325-2261
$50 Cash or Money Order Only
Monday – Friday 8:30am – 3:45pm

Lehigh County
Marriage License
Orphans’ Court
455 West Hamilton Street
Room 123.5
Allentown, PA 18101-1614
610-782-3173
$50 Cash, Credit or Debit Cards
Monday – Friday 8am – 4pm

Monroe County Recorder
Monroe County Courthouse
610 Monroe Street, Room 327
Stroudsburg, PA 18360
570-517-3385
$40 Cash or Money Order
Monday _ Friday 8:30am – 4:30pm

Northampton
Clerk of Orphans’ Court
669 Washington St
Easton, PA 18042
610-559-3095
$50 Cash Only
Monday – Friday 8am – 4pm